GTN Home Internet for foreign residents: documents, language support and costs when you leave

This page has no affiliate links. Links to this provider go to its official site.

Fibre from GTN, the company behind GTN Mobile, a SIM provider for foreign residents. After you send the application form, GTN staff contact you in your preferred language by email and phone, and GTN Mobile's support centre covers 13 languages (not stated specifically for the fibre service). The listed prices are for a two-year contract. The fibre page does not give the cancellation fee or the payment methods, so ask before you apply. This site has no affiliate partnership with GTN.

Language supportFull Japanese, English, Chinese, Korean, Indonesian, Vietnamese, Nepali, Mongolian, Tagalog, Burmese, Cantonese, Hindi, Portuguese

These are the languages of GTN Mobile's support centre as a whole, not stated specifically for the fibre service.

Apartment / month¥4,180
House / month¥5,720
Contract2-year
Time to connection1–2 weeks

Counted from document and payment registration; the official page does not say whether installation waiting time is included.

Everything below was checked against each company's own pages on 3 October 2026. The numbers in brackets point to the sources listed at the bottom of the page.

Which languages you can use

The GTN Mobile site is available in Japanese, English, Simplified Chinese, Korean, Vietnamese, Indonesian, Nepali and Mongolian. After you send the fibre application form, GTN staff explain the service in your preferred language, first by email and then in two phone calls.[1]

GTN Mobile's support centre (not specifically for the fibre service) works in 13 languages: Japanese, English, Chinese, Korean, Indonesian, Vietnamese, Nepali, Mongolian, Tagalog, Burmese, Cantonese, Hindi and Portuguese. You can reach it by phone (03-5155-4673), chat, email or social media, from 10:00 to 18:30 Japan time (closed over the New Year holidays).[2]

The fibre page does not say whether the installation visit is handled in another language or whether an interpreter is provided.[1]

What you need to apply

You start by choosing a plan, filling in the inquiry form and submitting the documents and information it asks for. Once GTN staff have registered your application, you upload documents and register a payment method on a dedicated page.[1]

The fibre page does not list which documents are needed or which payment methods are accepted. If you do not have a Japanese credit card or bank account, ask the support centre before you apply.[1][2]

The administration fee is ¥4,950. If you sign up for a GTN voice SIM at the same time and your fibre is connected, the "Net discount" (ネット割) takes ¥330 a month off the mobile basic fee.[1]

Before you apply: residence card address, payment methods and the confirmation call →

Installation and how long it takes

According to GTN's own timeline, it takes as little as one to two days from sending the form to your application being registered, and about one to two weeks from registering your documents and payment method to connection. The page does not say whether waiting for an installation slot is included in that.[1]

You can borrow a Wi-Fi device free of charge until the line is connected. If you would rather avoid installation altogether, GTN also offers a plug-in "Home Wi-Fi" router at ¥5,907 a month (basic fee plus rental).[1]

Moving or leaving Japan: what it costs and what to do

The price table lists a two-year contract for both apartments and houses. The fibre page does not give the fee for cancelling early, any installation charges, or the rules for returning equipment. If you know when you will leave Japan, say so in the email or phone call when you apply, and ask what cancelling would cost.[1]

Leaving Japan: when to cancel and how to deal with the final bill →

Sources (official pages)

  1. Home Internet | GTN Mobile(光回線・Wi-Fiルーター) (3 October 2026)
  2. Support Center | GTN Mobile (3 October 2026)
All articles